What is USSSP?

 

The U.S. Science Support Program (USSSP) facilitates involvement of the U.S. scientific community in the International Ocean Discovery Program (IODP), an international program of basic research in marine geosciences that explores the Earth’s history and environment.

 

USSSP provides support for U.S.-based researchers to plan and participate in IODP expeditions on multiple drilling platforms. Among the activities supported by USSSP are thematic workshops, pre-drilling research, shipboard staffing and salary support, post-cruise studies, fellowships for graduate students, and an IODP-themed lecture series. USSSP staff also help the U.S. community share IODP-related research, participate in the IODP international advisory structure, and develop education products. Information about all of these activities, as well as descriptions of how to obtain USSSP support, are included on this website. Please explore the site to learn more about USSSP and the many types of assistance that are available.

 

We also encourage you to sign up for the USSSP mailing list, which will keep you up to date on the latest IODP developments and activities.

Contact Us

 

Carl Brenner

Director
cbrenner@LDEO.columbia.edu
845-365-8754

Lori McCaleb

Division Business Manager
lorin@LDEO.columbia.edu
845-365-8341

Sharon Cooper

Manager, Education and Outreach
scooper@LDEO.columbia.edu
845-365-8362

Angela Slagle

Science Program Officer
aslagle@LDEO.columbia.edu
845-365-8444

Nicole Kurtz

Outreach Coordinator
nkurtz@LDEO.columbia.edu
845-365-8386

James Spencer

Logistics Coordinator
jspencer@LDEO.columbia.edu
845-365-8785

U.S. Science Support Program Office, IODP
Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory
61 Route 9W
Palisades, NY 10964-1000

usssp@LDEO.columbia.edu