U.S. Advisory Committee for Scientific Ocean Drilling

The U.S. Advisory Committee for Scientific Ocean Drilling (USAC) is the national advisory committee for U.S. participation in the International Ocean Discovery Program (IODP) and wider issues in scientific ocean drilling. USAC is established through the U.S. Science Support Program to broadly represent the scientific community. USAC members are peer-elected, serve three-year staggered terms, and generally meet biannually. They review research proposals and applications to sail on IODP expeditions, nominate new members to IODP panels, and discuss new initiatives to energize and engage the community.


Members & Subcommittees
USAC Meeting Schedule

USAC Terms of Reference

Working Group & Planning Reports

Letters to the Community

IODP Facility Boards and Advisory Panels

IODP evaluates proposals for scientific drilling expeditions based on impact, logistical feasibility, and cost through a system of Facility Boards and Advisory Panels whose membership is drawn from the international scientific community.


Drilling proposals are first evaluated by the Science Evaluation Panel (SEP), which is responsible for evaluating the scientific objectives and technical approach of submitted proposals at all stages, and for forwarding ready-to-drill and top-priority proposals to the appropriate Facility Board. The Environmental Protection and Safety Panel (EPSP) provides critical support to the review process, and engineering panels are convened as needed by the ship operators.


The JOIDES Resolution Facility Board oversees the operations of the JOIDES Resolution, including scheduling expeditions, approving program plans, monitoring the advisory panels to ensure efficient and effective review of drilling proposals, and developing and monitoring policies for data collection, publications and core curation. Independent facility boards also oversee Chikyu (Chikyu IODP Board) and Mission Specific Platform (ECORD Facility Board) operations.


The U.S. members of the Facility Boards are:


  • JOIDES Resolution Facility Board: Larry Krissek (Chair, Ohio State University), Ken Miller (Rutgers University), and Amelia Shevenell (University of South Florida)
  • ECORD Facility Board: Beth Christensen (Rowan University)
  • Chikyu IODP Board: Donna Blackman (UC Santa Cruz) and Dave Goldberg (Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory)


The U.S. Science Support Program provides travel support for U.S. members serving on the IODP Facility Boards and Advisory Panels, as well as approved liaisons, to attend their respective panel meetings.

Volunteer for a Board, Committee, or Panel


For 2023, the U.S. Science Support Program in association with IODP is seeking new U.S.-based members for the U.S. Advisory Committee for Scientific Ocean Drilling (USAC), Science Evaluation Panel (SEP), and JOIDES Resolution Facility Board (JRFB).


All new member terms will begin on October 1, 2023.


Scientific disciplines particularly needed for SEP this year include: sedimentology/stratigraphy; paleoclimate/ paleoceanography; marine geology & geophysics; geomechanics/geohazards; and seismology. The ability to assess seismic reflection data for site locations is also a crucial skill set for the site characterization work of SEP.


For USAC and JRFB, USSSP seeks expertise from all scientific disciplines relevant to scientific ocean drilling.


Scientists interested in volunteering for these opportunities should send a cover letter and a two-page CV to by July 10, 2023. Letters should clearly indicate your primary field of expertise, briefly document previous committee experience, describe your interest in the scientific ocean drilling programs (now and in the future), and identify your preferred panel or committee assignment. Candidates for the JRFB should have an extensive history of participation in scientific ocean drilling. We encourage the involvement of early- and mid-career scientists on USAC and SEP, as well as those with more experience.